Professor Randy Wayne Schekman,
Winner of the 2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Professor Randy Wayne Schekman

Brief Introduction:

Randy Wayne Schekman (born December 30, 1948, in Saint Paul, Minnesota) is an American cell biologist at the University of California, Berkeley and former editor-in-chief of Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. In the late 1950s his family moved to the new suburban community of Rossmoor, located in Orange County next to Long Beach. He graduated from Western High School in Anaheim, California, in 1966. He received a BA in Molecular Sciences from the University of California in Los Angeles (UCLA), in 1971. He spent his third year at the University of Edinburgh in Scotland, as an exchange student. He received a PhD in 1975 from Stanford University for research on DNA replication working with Arthur Kornberg. After joining the faculty at University of California, Berkeley, he was promoted to Associate Professor in 1984 and Professor in 1994. In 2011, he was announced as the editor of eLife, a new high-profile open-access journal published by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, the Max Planck Society and the Wellcome Trust launching in 2012. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1992. Schekman shared the 2013 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine with James Rothman and Thomas C. Südhof for their ground-breaking work on cell membrane vesicle trafficking.


  • In 2002, Schekman received the Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research and Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize of Columbia University along with James Rothman for their discovery of cellular membrane trafficking, a process that cells use to organize their activities and communicate with their environment.
  • In 2008 he was named the first Miller Senior Fellow of the Miller Institute at the University of California Berkeley. He was awarded the Massry Prize from the Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California, in 2010. Schekman is also a member of the Selection Committee for Life Science and Medicine which chooses winners of the Shaw Prize.
  • Schekman was elected a Foreign Member of the Royal Society (ForMemRS) in 2013.
  • Schekman, Thomas C. Südhof, and James Rothman were awarded the 2013 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine "for their discoveries of machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells".

The Nobel Prize Workstation:

The Nobel Prize workstation will be the carrier of technical cooperation between Wuhan Huamei Biotech Co., LTD. and Professor Randy Wayne Schekman. It will promote the landing and transformation of Professor Randy Wayne Schekman and his team’s innovative achievements in the East Lake High-Tech Development Zone. The workstation will work as a channel to promote the cooperation and union between the world's top scientific research technology and high quality industrial resources in High-Tech Development Zone.

As the director of the Nobel Prize workstation, Professor Randy Wayne Schekman will act as the chief scientist in Wuhan Huamei Biotech Co., LTD. He will provide us with technical guidance about product development, particularly in the field of membrane protein crystallization. He will use the world's top and authoritative technology to optimize our development platform of biological membrane proteins and antibodies so as to upgrade the product.


Get all the latest information on Events, Sales and Offers. Sign up for newsletter today.

Copyright © 2007-2018 CUSABIO TECHNOLOGY LLC All Rights Reserved.


Join the 25,000 subscribers to get research hotpots, technical tips, latest information on events, sales and offers.

Sign up now!

We don't deal in spam.